Back Home
Back To The Beach cover

Back To The Beach

A Brian Wilson and The Beach Boys Reader


Buy on Amazon

Released on March 1, 1998

Written by Kingsley Abbott


  • Back To The Beach: A Brian Wilson & The Beach Boys Reader (Newly expanded edition)

    • July 5, 2002
    • Helter Skelter
    • London
    • Paperback
    • 288 pages
    • ISBN: 1900924463
    New revised and expanded edition of the hugely acclaimed Beach Boys compendium, collecting all of the best articles, interviews and reviews from their five decades of music, along with a number of inspiring pieces specially commissioned for this volume.
    Since the book’s first edition, the Beach Boys’ world has endured the tragedy of Carl Wilson’s premature death and the triumph of a re-energised Brian Wilson performing Pet Sounds live in its entirety with a thrilling young band. Brian also appeared to much acclaim at the Queen’s golden jubilee concert at Buckingham Palace.
    In line with these events, this revised edition includes a revealing Carl Wilson interview by Geoffrey Himes, that acts as a tribute to one of the most underrated members of the band, as well as a new interview with Pet Sounds-lyricist Tony Asher and an essay on the resurgence of Brian Wilson by editor Kingsley Abbott.
    Also included: Nick Kent interviewing Brian * David Leaf on the early years * The sorely missed Timothy White on the reunion for 15 Big Ones * A reprint of the original Holland booklet * Van Dyke Parks * Jerry McCulley with Brian in 1988 * Stephen J McFarland on The Beach Boys and surf music* Peter Doggett on Dennis’ solo work * and classic interviews with Brian and Dennis and Mike.
  • Die Beach Boys und Brian Wilson (in German)

    • September 1998
    • Hannibal
    • St. Andrä-Wördern, Austria
    • Paperback
    • 288 pages
    • ISBN: 3854451601
    Translated by Angela Nescerry.
  • Back To The Beach: A Brian Wilson and The Beach Boys Reader

    • March 1, 1998
    • Helter Skelter
    • London
    • Paperback
    • 254 pages
    • ISBN: 1900924021
    A collection of the best articles about the musical geniuses behind classic surf singles like 'Surfin' USA' as well as more ambitious albums like Pet Sounds, together with a number of previously unpublished pieces and some specially commissioned work. Features Nick Kent, David Leaf, Timothy White and others, with a foreword by Brian Wilson.